The Singapore Sling

Now I know the way a lot of Singapore Slings are made today. I notice that bartenders don’t even shake the drink anymore. They take a rock glass put some ice in it then the Gin add some lemon bar mix right out of the gun , a little orange juice then top it off with a bit of grenadine. Some even forget Cherry Brandy should be floated at the top.

Here is the way I did it back in the disco era and in the Bartending Class this is always a winner. Students go to bars after tasting mine and there is no comparison so here is my version.

You take your sling glass or the tall narrow thin glass. I use to call it a Zombie glass cause this kind of glass is great for layering different coloured rums and juices. A popular drink at one time. If you can find shaved ice the cocktail will be that much more better as this type of ice fills up most of the glass leaving very little space for liquid. As opposed to an ice cube.

Usually any cocktail that requires Bar Mix should always be shaken so the mix and alcohol are evenly distributed.

So you take your stainless steel shaker and fill it with ice. Add your shot of Gin. Typically not your most expensive brand. Beefeater or any Dry Gin will do.

In the shaker pour 1 1/2 oz of Gin.

Add 3-4 oz of Lemon Bar Mix and 1/2 oz grenadine. Shake it good so it is nice and cold.

Strain in your tall glass that is already filled with fresh shaved ice.

Float 1/2 oz Cherry Brandy on the top.

Garnish with your orange slice and cherry.

Sip through a straw and enjoy this great cocktail.

Try it one time if you can and let me know what you think.

Any cocktails out there you like and would like to pass along? Love to hear from you.

4 comments

  1. I don't drink mixed drinks as a rule [I was a bourbon kind of gal once :)] but this sounds so yummy.Give us more. Please.

  2. SkippyMom…actually I drink only beer and wine but everytime I sip this in bartending class it taste great. Once in a while I will put something in. Thanks.

  3. That sounds great. I appreciate you taking the time to do it RIGHT!

  4. The Restaurant Manager…taking the time is important. Thanks.

Leave a comment