I Think I Just Died and Went to Heaven

Yesterday afternoon I am sitting at home having a brew around 3PM ready to enjoy my son’s soccer game later on at 6. For the summer outside of my couple of weeks in a row off to holiday I have been getting the game nights off on Wednesday and Thursday and practice night off on the Monday.

I just finished coming in from having a game of badminton with my eldest son who is 7 and once he was finished had a game of seeing how many times I could hit the birdie up in the air in a row. I worked up a pretty good sweat. In fact , I am thinking of joining a badminton club here locally if teaching bartending doesn’t pan out on Tuesdays.

So the phone rings and it is work. Now I am thinking I really don’t want to go into work right now. Starting Friday I am on 4 in a row and even though I am off Tuesday this time we have a company baseball tournament on that day which I was planning to attend with the family so they can enjoy the BBQ. Then I was going in on the Wednesday this time so I could get Thursday off , Friday so my wife and I can see Bryan Adams in concert , then Saturday have a party for my wife’s birthday.

But it wasn’t to come into work for last night but next Tuesday. I said okay but we live a distance from the baseball diamond and seeing that I would have to go to the diamond then have to drive everyone back and then head back to work , I probably wouldn’t be heading to the baseball BBQ. But if you needed me I would come in.

The GM says that I don’t have to say yes to coming in and that she would rather have me and the family come to the Baseball BBQ that day.

I think I just died and went to heaven.

10 comments

  1. How nice is that? Sounds like you have a fabulous week planned.I am still trying to finagle a trip back to the beach 😉

  2. SkippyMom…do it cause you know winter is around the corner.

  3. Do everything you can, when you can and enjoy your families to the utmost. That is what makes life sweet and rewarding.

  4. Chris…absolutely I couldn't agree with that more.

  5. A manager actually WANTING you to enjoy yourself? No way!!Guest blogger invitation — see here for details.Are you cranky? Do you hate the asshats you have the schlepp food to every day? Or maybe you usually don't mind it, but one day somebody just pissed you off. Maybe you prefer to keep your blog more civilized and don't want to casually throw around the swear words …. but sometimes you just want to write something hateful and vitriolic. Maybe you want more blog traffic. Or maybe you actually have a good story to share. You know, whatever. This cranky blogger wants to feature your stories.

  6. Purplegirl…yes it is quite rare you find that. I may come up with a story for you shortly.

  7. Sounds like you have a great GM. It's a win-win when you get one that realizes that you have a little bit of a life outside of your job!

  8. Don….you are right about that. I just want to do the best I can there. Try my best and then hope that it is good enough.

  9. Wow, a human in the industry, not a machine!!! Enjoy it while it lasts.

  10. Chef's Kitchen Rant…that is what I keep telling myself. Enjoy it for as long as possible. You never know what can happen.

Leave a comment