Tomorrow is Another Day

The past couple of days I have been fighting this flu going around.I was due back tonight at work. Instead I need another night to get over it.

There used to be a time when I would go in feeling sicker than I am now. Fortunately I work in a place where there are plenty of employees. I used to work in places where if you were sick they would say forget about it and just get your butt in and work. Or maybe that is what I thought they would say.

It’s maybe the sign of the times but I find that people have to get to work no matter how sick they are. Working in the food industry that makes little sense.

Not only are you going to pass along your germs to your fellow co-workers but to your guests as well.

Yes for sure I will lose out on the gratuities tonight but in the grand scheme of things who cares!

If there are any fellow waiters , cooks , and bartenders that are showing up to work with bad flu symptoms take a minute and think of your health first.

It is not the end of the world if you miss a shift. In fact rather than have you working with a kleenex or nagging cough your co workers will probably appreciate it as well.

Money is replaceable , your health isn’t.

Tomorrow is another day…

4 comments

  1. Well said! I wish people in all fields would think this way. Hope you feel better soon.

  2. Terry B Blue Kitchen… welcome and thank you. One more night of good sleep should do it. I will add you to my blogroll.

  3. Completely agree. I find it hard to call in when I am sick as well, because they always try to coerce me into coming in anyway. Chances are that if one person is sick in a restaurant, most of the people are sick because of this very reason. Get better soon!visions unto myself

  4. Kara Hoag…welcome and thank you for your comment. I am with you. It is hard to call in but last night when I was home I was glad I did.

Leave a comment