How Do You Eat An Elephant?

Last night on a slow night made a $100 and have found a way to remember these recipes much better. You know the saying how do you eat an elephant one bite at a time. Well rather than try to cram all these recipes in my brain , I pick one and mention it to each table I greet each night. I started with the French Martini and not only do I remember the recipe now but I actually sold 4 of them or 25% of the people I served last night. Here are some more.

Blackberry Martini

Muddle 10 blackberries and 5 sprigs of mint first before adding alcohol
1oz Vodka
1/2 oz Chambord
1/2 oz Cassis
1/2 oz Simple Syrup
1 oz Lemon Barmix
Serve on the rocks and garnish with a mint sprig.

Blue Freezy

1 1/2 oz Vodka
1/2 Curacao
1 oz 7up
1 oz Margarita Premix
Serve on the rocks with a lemon twist.

Miami Haze

1 1/2 oz Vodka
1/2 oz Peach Schnapps
1 oz Fresh Orange Juice
1 oz Pineapple Juice
1/2 oz mango mix
Add a splash of cranberry juice
Serve on the rocks with an orange wheel float.

Big Easy

1 1/2 oz Southern Comfort
1/2 oz Sour Puss Raspberry
1 oz Margarita Premix
1 oz 7up
Serve on the rocks in a sugar rimmed glass with a lemon twist.

Continental

1 oz Hennessey VS
1 oz Grand Marnier
1/2 oz Passion Mix
1/2 oz Peach Mix
Serve on the rocks with an orange twist.

9 comments

  1. that's a great menu-learning tip i've been using [and forcing on trainees] for a long time — pick something and make it your goal to put one on every table you talk to for a night. good advice! btw, works for food as well…

  2. vandervecken…absolutely for food as well. Great stuff. Even the bar manager was thinking of suggesting what I was doing last night to his staff. Makes sense especially when the drinks are full of all kinds of ingredients.

  3. I know I could look it up, but what is a French Martini? It isn't on the list and I was wondering.The others look good but a bit busy. I guess signature martinis are in right now. Then again I don't drink a lot of liquor [okay bourbon, on occasion and champagne] but they just seemed too much for an honest drink – like shooters in a martini glass, y'know?

  4. SkippyMom…the French one was on last week. There are a lot of drinks so splitting them up on different posts. Besides so busy with other things I haven't had time too much to write anything.

  5. I really like your blog and ive been reading it for a little while.I have a question though: why do you always have to post how much you make? im a waitress myself and i think is a bad idea to tell people especially in a website where a lot of people will read how much you usually make cause that will make them tip all of us less next time they go to a restaurant.People at my job do that they would say all loud in front of the customers how much they made yesterday or they make so far and i think it makes no sence cause we will get less tips..No offense, and like i said before your blog is great!

  6. Anonymous…that is a great question.First of all I don't do it that often. Like maybe twice a month. A lot of others talk more maybe about a certain lousy or exceptional table whereas I might say how my total night went. Don't know really. Whether people who eat at a restaurant actually care how much I make I wouldn't think so. Many wouldn't think what I made was very much anyway so they wouldn't tip less or for that matter more. I think though some might want to know just for curiosity sake. I know by what other waiters say how much they make I can usually tell what kind of place they work at. Thanks for liking the blog.

  7. Hi again! waiter extraordinaireThanks for answering my question and you have a point i didnt look at it that way.. thanks and keep the good work 🙂

  8. Anonymous…I will try.

Leave a Reply

